Calendula Tea

calendula-ringblomma
image source: dr.hauschka.com


So, my mother has always loved nature and natural remedies. Growing up in Sweden, we always had a big garden where she planted herbs, vegetables and berries. I spent my summers in the garden, picking never ending amounts of berries that she used to make home made juice, marmalade and cake. Our garden was also full of bright flours, and any normal person would have looked at these flowers and thought oh, how pretty, maybe smelled them and thought nothing more of it. But these were Calendula flowers, which my mother would dry and brew into a tea.

Calendula is loaded with anti-inflammatory properties and helps against gastritis and stomach ulcers. It can also be used externally to treat infected wounds and skin issues. You can gurgle Calendula when you have a sore throat. Here is a great post I found of 14 different ways to use Calendula.

But I want to share one thing most people don’t know about the Calendula flower; it can prevent menstrual cramps.

Whaaaaat??

Yep, it sounds crazy, but it’s true.

Calendula tea (4 of 5)

As you regularly drink Calendula tea (because let’s face it, this is not going to be a quick fix) the menstrual cramps will eventually disappear. Entirely. Trust me, I know.Calendula tea (3 of 5)

It takes a few months for Calendula to do it’s thing. Drink it a few times every month, and at least one cup/ day when you have cramps. The taste can take time getting used to. My mother never let me put sugar in my tea, I don’t really know why. But if you’re really struggling with this drink like I did, you can add some honey. Eventually though you’ll get used to it, and today I love the flavour. Taste really is a funny thing!

Calendula tea (5 of 5)
Put a lid or plate over the “tea cup” and let it sit for at least 15 minutes before drinking the tea.

Then one day you will wake up and cramps will be something of the past.

Calendula tea (1 of 5)

Calendula tea (2 of 5)
If you can’t grow your own, then buying organic Calendula flowers is the next best thing

If you stop drinking the tea, the cramps may slowly come back. I’m not sure why the tea works the way it does, but it will only work as long as you continue drinking it.

—–

Please remember that I’m only sharing from my own experiences, and if you have stomach issues or are pregnant, you should always consult with a doctor first.

Leave a Reply

