Zero waste juice and pulp

Zero waste refers to a lot of things. Packaging. Clothes. Food.

I’m new to zero waste, and just recently started looking for ways to reduce my waste. It’s not easy, and my biggest issue is undoubtedly food and packaging.

Zero waste doesn’t usually refer to compostable food, but why throw good food in the bin when you can use it for something else later? Food too costs energy to grow, even when it’s organic. And for every orange I juice and keep the “flesh”, that is one more jam I don’t have to buy.

I recently bought a slow juicer, so I can have lots of yummy juice every day. When the juice is squeezed out of the fruit/ veg, you’re left with pulp, or flesh, from the fruit and veg. Rather than binning the pulp, I’ve started using it in cooking. The best part is that you don’t have to chop the fruit or veggies as they’re already minced from the juicer, so cooking is fast and easy.

  • You will need:
  • 1 kg peeled carrots
  • 5 large oranges
  • Optional: 1 or 2 lemons

Carrot and orange juice

First juice the carrots. Once done, store the pulp in an airtight container in fridge or freezer, depending when you’re planning to use it.

Homemade Juice (1 of 2)

Optional: you can clean the juicer now, but it isn’t necessary. Personally, I don’t mind having some carrot bits in my orange pulp. 🙂

Now juice the oranges, and lemon if you’ve decided to have those. Store the pulp in an airtight container, fridge freezer depending on when you will use it.

Homemade Juice (2 of 2)

Homemade Juice

Store the juice in a jug in the fridge up to 5 days.

Orange marmalade:

Orange Marmalade
(Recipe courtesy of Alton Brown)

All you need is the orange/lemon pulp, orange/lemon zest, water and sugar. Here’s a great recipe for homemade orange marmelade. You basically just have to boil the orange/lemon in water and sugar.

Jam (1 of 1)

I like the jam with vegan pancakes and coconut cream. This is what I eat before going out on MTB trails.

Carrot cake:

Vegan Gluten-Free Carrot Cake -- made with a heavenly (vegan)
Source: gimmesomeoven

For a vegan carrot cake, I follow this delicious recipe. For a non-vegan carrot cake, use eggs in stead of egg-replacer. You can also use plain wheat flour instead of gluten free flour. I use half of my carrot pulp in this recipe.

Carrot soup:

Use the remaining half of carrot pulp to make a yummy carrot soup. Add carrot pulp, water and vegetable stock to a saucepan. Bring to boil and simmer for 15 minutes. You can replace the water with dairy or non-dairy milk for a creamier soup. I usually smooth it out a bit with a hand mixer in the end, although it’s not necessary.

2 thoughts on “Zero waste juice and pulp

  1. Thanks Danielle, I’m glad you like it! I love my new juicer and it makes cooking and baking much easier. And I really recommend the carrot cake if you like sweets!

Leave a Reply

